Simon Webb is a composer, musical director, conductor, arranger and performer. His credits include music for all the major UK TV channels, London’s West End, The Royal National Theatre, and UK and US films.

Simon Webb Showreel

His most recent work includes Speed Love, a new British film to be released in 2018,  starring Elaine Paige and Neil McCaul,  and Everybody Powwow!, a large scale rock theatre piece.

You can read Simon Webb’s full biography below.

You can listen to a selection of Simon Webb’s recent music in the players below.

You can listen to further tracks from Everybody Powwow! here, and watch videos here.

You can purchase Simon’s music at iTunes and CDBaby.

You can read Simon Webb’s Blog here.

Simon Webb – Biography

Full Biography


Simon Webb is a British composer, musical director, conductor, arranger and performer. After reading music at York University where he specialized in composition, conducting, and 20th century music, he was appointed musical director of the Theatre Royal York. He subsequently wrote the music for many productions there including Dr. Faustus, The Devil’s Law Case, Twelfth Night, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

He has since worked in theatres (repertory and commercial) all over the UK, writing and directing music. In the West End his musical directing credits include The Who’s Tommy at The Queen’s Theatre, and conducting Cats at The New London Theatre. At The Royal National Theatre, he wrote, directed and performed the music for Sir Nicholas Hytner’s productions of The Winter’s Tale and Henry V, and Mark Ravenhill’s Totally Over You.


For television his writing credits include themes and scores for over a hundred British TV programmes including Delia Smith’s Summer and Winter Collections, Channel 4’s Fragile Earth nature series and Streets Ahead dance series, Think Tank, The Big Stage, Members Only, Help Squad, Hodson Confidential, The Antiques Trail, Kick Off, The Juno Mission, You Bet, Hale and Pace, Jobs For the Boys, Night Network, ITV Telethon, Lights! Camera! Magic!, Chef School, Treacle People, Euro Disney Opening, Taxi!, Mary Berry At Home, Monkey Business, The British Comedy Awards, Avenue Of The Stars, ITV’s 50th, and Casanova’s Love Letters.

His television musical directing credits include Wogan, Sunday Sunday, Friday Night Live, TFI Friday, and Saturday Night Live. His arranging credits include The Paradise Club, Test The Nation, and Last Night Of The Proms.


He has worked on many films including Playing Away, directed by Horace Ove and starring Norman Beaton, for Film On Four, for which he wrote the score; Runaway Dreams, an American drama film, for which he was musical director and arranger of a score by Bernie Marsden; Riders of the Storm, an American film starring Dennis Hopper, for which he co-wrote the theme song with Pierre Tubbs; Coast to Coast, a BBC 2 film starring Sir Lenny Henry and John Shea, for which he was musical director, Tequila Sunrise, a Hollywood blockbuster starring Mel Gibson, Kurt Russell and Michelle Pfeiffer, playing keyboards with Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, and Bernard Edwards and Tony Thompson from Chic; Heavenly Pursuits starring Helen Mirren and Tom Conti, arranging, conducting and musical directing a score by B.A. Robertson; and Awaiting, a British Horror film directed by Mark Murphy, for which Simon composed the score.

His most recent film is Speed Love, a musical thriller starring Elaine Paige, to be released in 2018.

Musical Director

As a musical director, Simon has worked with many great creative talents including Pete Townshend, Don Black, Phil Daniels, Imelda Staunton, Sir Lenny Henry, Liz Dawn, B.A. Robertson, June Whitfield, Peter Straker, Richard O’Brien, Jean Rigby, and Bernie Marsden. Simon is Musical Director and CEO of Music For Sport.


Simon has been composing music since the age of four and his style has developed into a unique blend of old and new. He embraces the sound-worlds of the choir and orchestra, of soloist and ensemble, of pop, jazz and rock. He often collaborates with outstanding musicians from all walks of musical life, framing their performances in ultramodern soundscapes. String quartets morph into synthesisers, heavy electric guitars duet with oboes, operatic voices are shaped into extraordinary sonic extravaganzas. All this made possible by many years of experience working with great musicians and singers, combined with a passion for finding ‘the new’ in new music, and the desire to support the director’s vision.


Simon has released 3 albums, The Brain, A Leap Into The Light, and Everybody Powwow! (Double album). He is currently writing a new album provisionally titled Traveling Light.

Awaiting (Director Mark Murphy, score Simon Webb.)

Casanova’s Love Letters. (Director Mark Murphy, score Simon Webb.)

Simon Webb Showreel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *